Home » About Us » Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The NGA LTER site is a community composed of partners that share an interest in the Gulf of Alaska ecosystem. These include the core researchers funded through the National Science Foundation (NSF), affiliated researchers funded by a variety of state and federal agencies, Alaska communities, and other groups who welcome our outreach activities.

2024 All-Hands Meeting Group Photo

We strive to create a diverse, equitable, and inclusive community that is welcoming to all participants. Valuing individual differences strengthens our community and allows participants to best contribute to the success of our site. Understanding the complex NGA will require not only diversity in scientific disciplines, but also diversity in ways of knowing (epistemologies) and points of view regarding the value of this ecosystem.

We acknowledge that we work on the ancestral lands and waters of the Eyak and Sugpiaq-Alutiiq peoples. We recognize their unique relationships with and knowledge of this place and are grateful for their stewardship past, present, and future. We strive to be in good relations with the original peoples and with this place.

Vision and Plan

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Vision Plan

This plan is a living document that will help us promote diversity, equity and inclusion within the NGA-LTER. It will provide a roadmap for tracking our progress towards achieving our vision.

NGA LTER DEI Committee


The NGA LTER DEI Committee discusses actions and resources which will be helpful in fostering diversity, equity, and inclusion at our site. The committee also informs the NGA LTER community about the resources and best practices that are available within the LTER Network.


  • Gwenn Hennon (co-Principal Investigator)
  • Rachel Potter (Technical Staff)


  • Dan Cushing (Graduate Student)
  • Beatriz dos Santos Dias (PostDoc)
  • Kerri Fredrickson (Technical Staff)
  • Katie Gavenus (Education & Outreach)
  • Jennifer Questel (Early Career)
  • Caitlin Smoot (Technical Staff)
  • Nicole Webster (Graduate Student)

The committee meets on a monthly basis. Please contact the committee with ideas for new initiatives.